So, What’s the Point?

Nenkinan Nehemiah Deshi
4 min readMay 22, 2024

--

Photo by Jan Kahánek on Unsplash

Hello Readers, I am here again. I suspect this would be the last article in this very unplanned series on questions about life. I have in the past few weeks, basically tried to break down basic theology in a way we can all understand and find guidance as we navigate this world — especially as young people. If you haven’t read up, read here, here, and here, and here.

This week’s article is emotional for me. Especially as not up to 24 hours ago, I had to remind myself of all I have been writing and believe in. Yesterday my nephew (who is actually around my age so more like my brother) was knocked down by a car whose driver didn't stop and he died before he could receive proper attention. I barely slept because I kept wondering like the topic of this topic what the point was. I questioned God, wondered why, and here I am again with my cap of faith back on to talk about a sensitive issue.

If like I have been writing, we live for Christ and our lives are not ours, then what is the point? Why bother? Why did God make us? What’s the point of free willwhen there is essentially a path laid out for us to follow and we die when we are done or fail to follow through. These are all questions I don’t have a full answer to, but I’ll try.

As I wrote in last week's article,

God has been writing a grand story from time immemorial. Moses, Elijah, Peter, Paul, St. Augustine, Martin Luther, Mother Theresa, Martin Luther King Jr., John Piper, Bishop Oyedepo, Reverend Amos Mohzo, Nenkinan Deshi, and you just get to play a part in that grand divine story.

This is our summary statement. We are part of God’s story and what is God’s story?

God’s Story is a story of redemption and restoration. Man’s redemption from sin. Humanities redemption from decay. God’s restoration of his good, pleasing, and perfect plan.

Folks, I’ll cut to the chase. We don’t need any more proof that “nothing dey this life” because truly, there is nothing. We’re here today, gone tomorrow. And we’re not even here by choice. I’m sure you’ve joked about it once or twice that if you had your choice, you for no even come this world. All we build for ourselves and amass comes to nothing. Don’t take my word for it, consider the richest and wisest man ever liveth. God allowed Solomon to taste the height of the 3 pleasures man seeks — Money, power, and sex. And when he had tasted it all, Solo had nothing to say but “all is vanity”. Consider also the many rich men and women by our standards who ended up taking their lives and getting depressed. What was missing? What went wrong?

Well. This is a truth that might not sit well with you. But

We were created by God on purpose, for a purpose and unless we fulfill that purpose, our souls will find no true rest or satisfaction on this side of heaven or the other.

Magana ya kare. It’s like the concept behind the children’s classic ‘Donut Man’. Life without Jesus is like a donut. Why? Because there’s a hole in the middle of the heart.

So then, I implore you to take into God’s redemptive and restorative plan so your life will have some meaning now and in eternity. That’s the whole point! C.S. Lewis once said, “Anything that is not eternal is eternally out of date”. Invest in what is eternal.

Now, far too many Christians make the mistake of viewing the life of service to God as boring. Make no mistake my brothers and sisters, the life of service is the direct opposite of boring. I have tasted and am still tasting, and I will tell you, God is the best adventure master. It is a journey of joys and real joy — a joy you are partaking in with God himself — premium ecstasy! Satisfaction is assured because as Christian hedonists would say, “God is most glorified in us when we are most satisfied in him”. The path to our deep need for satisfaction is in glorifying God.

God will take you places you can't imagine, to do things you haven’t thought of, and make a mark you couldn’t imagine.

Think of it, who are the most remembered men of all history? Who are they? Men and Women who laid down their lives for God and country. That’s the God script!

I can write on and on and try to sell God’s ways to you, but I will stop here.

Have you read my book Bended but not Broken? I am giving out e-copies for free. All I have written in this series and the book were gained through the school of life. God took me through that journey before 25 that I might help and shine the light for others ahead, at par, and behind. Send an email to mcdesh4lf@gmail.com for your copy.

It would be wrong to end this article without bidding my brother farewell. Goodnight Luckilolo. You’ve run your race and fought your fight. Till we meet on the other side.

--

--

Nenkinan Nehemiah Deshi

Unashamed | Missionary; Claire Aid Foundation, Stefanos Foundation | Writer/Content Development; Sarauta Network | Encourager | YWAP